

# **Minutes**

# 85th

Annual General Meeting 2023 Titahi Bay Surf Lifesaving Club Inc 26<sup>th</sup> August 2023, 4:30pm Saturday 26<sup>th</sup> August 2023

#### Present

Life Members (LM): Ewan Lang

Abby Van Den Heuvel Alana McIsaac Alex Joyce Blue Maskell Brett Hamer Carl Jones Carryn Poki Christian Donkin Conor Devery Craig Maskell Dave Joyce Deborah Donkin Eli Jones	Ethan Jones Haidee Hemsley Jacinta Kelleher Jacob Gilligen Jayden Upston Joanna Lee Jodie Hickey-Smith Joel Eales John Van Den Heuvel Kaye Ryan Kirk McPherson Liam McVicar Malcolm Priest	Monique Byres Murry Smith Nic Neal Paul McVicar Petrina Gilligan Phillip Wright Sophie Jacques Stella Smith Steve Donkin Tim Marsden Tracey Mills Tracey Priest Trinity Donkin
Emma Morrison	Michelle Sutton	Yury Turetsky

# **Apologies**

Carl Campbell (LM)	Roddy Freeman (LM)	Graham Findlater
Ken Middleton (LM)	John Burke (Patron)	Scott Hemsley
Kerry Delany (LM)	Maire Wright	-

Silence observed for the following members that passed away this season: lan McCaw, Norm Bowers (was our first life member), John Gilbert, and Onelata Saunders-Little.

## Welcome

Paul welcomed everyone to the 85th AGM and introduced himself as chair and Deborah Donkin as Secretary. Paul confirmed a quorum of 12 as being present.

Acknowledgment was made to our life member Ewan Lang who was present.

# **Minutes of Previous Meeting**

The Minutes from the previous AGM were accepted. Move – Kaye Ryan Seconder – Michelle Sutton

## Reports

Chair - Kaye Ryan - spoke to her report

<u>Financial Report</u> – Brett Hamer, tabled the Treasurer report Statement of financial accounts were accepted. Move – Brett Hamer Seconder – Carl Jones

Flowers given to Phil Wright to pass onto Marie Wright for her continued hard work on the club grounds.

<u>Club Captain</u> – Carl Jones – spoke to his report

<u>Lifesaving Coordinator</u> - Read by Paul McVicar on behalf of Georgia McLaren

Nipper Coordinator - Scott Hemsley - taken as read

Boat Captain - Tim Marsden - spoke to his report

<u>Craft Coordinator</u> – Nic Rhodes-Grennell – taken as read

## **Election of Officers**

- President Vacant
- Chair Kaye Ryan
- Treasurer Jodie Hickey-Smith
- Secretary Deborah Donkin
- Club Captain Kirk McPherson
- Lifesaving Coordinator Tayne McMahon
- Boat Captain Tim Marsden
- Nippers Coordinator Joanna Lee
- Craft Coordinator Andrew Marshal

The new committee was voted in by a majority show of hands.

Vacant position of President, no nominations were offered from the floor therefore the appointment of a President is referred to the new committee to appoint.

#### Subs

Kaye talked to the increase in subs.

Fees		Current Fee		23/24 Season	
Senior Member/Lifeguard (S)	\$	200	\$	215	
Senior Lifeguard (SL)	\$	100	\$	110	
Junior Member/Lifegaurd (J)	\$	130	\$	140	
Junior Surf/Nipper (N)	\$	100	\$	110	
Pipi (P)	\$	65	\$	70	
Associate Member (AM)	\$	50	\$	60	
Gear Levy	\$	100	\$	100	

Questions asked why have the subs been increased? Kaye responded that our costs have gone up and the increase is the reflect that. They were not increased last season.

# **Constitution proposed changes**

Kaye read out the summary of changes:

- 1. Addition of a minimum voting age of 14 years
- 2. Addition of a dispute resolution process section 17.6 to comply with Charities Act
- 3. Use of non-gendered language
- 4. Updating of some committee role names
- 5. Inclusion of adherence to policies under member obligations section 14.1
- 6. Updating language to align with updates to legislation e.g. Privacy Act 2020

Members need two weeks to consider before we can accept the changes. The draft will be shared with members.

## **General Business**

Brett Hamer thanked Paul McVicar for his service and noted that after a long time is now stepping down from the Committee.

Jacinta Kelleher noed that she would like the club to work hard to come together as a harmonious club 'one club'. This is not a boat club, this is not a craft club, this is one club.

Meeting closed at 5:02 pm.